The South West College operates in four campuses in Cookstown, Dungannon, Enniskillen and Omagh and, of the six new area-based colleges, it is the smallest in size, but covers the largest geographical area of counties Tyrone and Fermanagh.

We work in partnership, to provide inclusive learning opportunities, to enrich lives, support business and promote community, economic and social wellbeing.

Our four key values – Respectful, Accountable, Engaging, and Committed and as an employer our culture is based on these. These values create a positive and committed workplace which enables all staff to deliver excellence.

Throughout each year opportunities exist across academic and support roles.

LRC Coordinator with student in resource centre

Interested in becoming a Part-Time Lecturer?

One of our main recruitment exercises each year is our Part-Time Lecturing register advertised in May for all subject areas required each year and then, when needed, smaller registers are advertised throughout the year.

The part-time lecturing register enables South West College to provide additional cover to support current Lecturing staff and is used for temporary vacancies e.g. to cover additional modules or staff absences. Any part-time lecturer will teach subjects to standards and quality defined by the College and, where applicable the Awarding Body.

The register offers professionals the chance to pass on experience within their chosen area of expertise on an ad-hoc temporary basis via morning, afternoon and evening classes.

Within this vacancy there is a list of subject areas and the criteria needed to teach and also a job description.

Each member of staff has an important role to play in ensuring that our students and business clients get the very best of quality education.

Come and be part of our team by applying today!

What happens next when I apply to a Part-Time Lecturing Register?

Our Part-Time Lecturing register is advertised in May for all subject areas required for the next Academic year commencing September, however, there may be also smaller registers advertised throughout the Academic year.

  • If you have applied for our part-time lecturing register your application will be held until the June of that Academic year in which you have applied.
  • Shortlisting will commence when there is a need, hours are available and when that subject area requires Part Time Lecturers during the that academic year.
  • If shortlisting is conducted for a subject area that you have applied for – you will be notified of the outcome via email.
  • If successful at shortlisting stage, you will then be invited to interview by e-mail. Interviews may be offered online or face to face depending on the needs of the College.
  • If successful at interview stage and you are offered teaching hours which you are agreeable to, pre-employment checks will be completed by the HR Team and then you will be contacted to confirm a suitable start date.
  • It will be necessary for you to complete an Induction programme which will include a Teaching and Learning Induction to prepare you for classroom delivery.
  • If you were not offered hours during the academic year that you have applied for you must reapply to the register again next year to be considered.

Should you have any queries regarding this process, please e-mail