The Council of the Institute of Highway Engineers has granted authority for the Northern Ireland Branch of the Institute to be re-constituted and to be based on the Omagh Campus of South West College.

This is the first occasion when a professional engineering body has had its administrative function delivered in either a college or university anywhere within the British Isles.

The initial Officers of the Branch are Professor Alan Woodside as Chairman, William Young (South West College) as Secretary and Shane Camley (Department of Infrastructure) as Treasurer.

The inaugural meeting of the reformed branch was held on Wednesday 6th April and attended by existing members, potential new members, representatives from the highways industry and college students.

The keynote address was given by Martin Polland (incoming President of the Institute) followed by technical presentations on the Belfast Transport Hub by Duncan McAllister and on the A6 Dungiven Bypass by Michael Megarry.